Mattersey Primary School

Governing Body
"The governing body has an appropriate mix of skills and experience. Governors understand their roles
 and responsibilities. They work effectively to support leaders and hold them to account".

Ofsted: January 2023

The Governing Body at Mattersey Primary School is responsible for:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the Head Teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure it is money well spent.

The Governing Body at Mattersey Primary School is determined by an Instrument of Government and re-constituted (11 March 2015) as per the requirements of The School Governance (Constitution) (England) Regulations, 2012.  The Governing Body is made up of seven Governors:

  • 3 Parent Governors - elected from the parent body
  • 1 Local Education Authority Governor - appointed by the LEA
  • 2 Staff Governors (including the Head Teacher)
  • 2 Co-Opted Governors - appointed by the Governing Body for specific skills and to represent the community


The current membership of our Governing Body for the academic year 2023/2024:

  • -Chair: Mr Chris Bailey, Local Authority Governor - (24/11/2022 - 23/11/2026). Safeguarding and Health and Safety. 
  • - Vice Chair: Mrs Lynne Saint, Co-opted Governor - (27/11/2019 - 26/11/2023) Curriculum, GDPR.
  • - Co-opted Governor: Mrs Sharon McDougall - (12/10/2020 - 11/10/2023) 
  • - Parent Governor: Mrs Samantha Aiken -(26/04/2022 - 25/04/2026) 
  • -Parent Governor: Mr Chris Clarkson -(21/11/23 -20/11/2027)
  • - Head Teacher: Mrs Lucy Wilson - (31/08/2021)
  • - Staff Governor: Miss Christina Cheyette- (21/11/2023- 20/11/2027)
  • - There is currently a vacancy for a Parent Governor

Governing Body Register of Business Interests at Mattersey Primary School (2023/2024):

School Register of Governors’ Interests November 23


Governance roles in other schools

Any interest declared

Chris Bailey None


Lynne Saint None


Sharon McDougall None


Christina Cheyette None None
Lucy Wilson None None 
Chris Clarkson None


Samantha Aiken None






Governors' Attendance at meetings during the academic year 2023/2024:

Name of Governor Autumn 2023 Spring 2024 Summer 2024
  Collaboration Full Interim Collaboration Full
Collaboration Full Interim
Chris Bailey Yes Yes





Lynne Saint n/a Yes



n/a Yes
Sharon McDougall n/a Yes Yes n/a Yes
Christina Cheyette n/a Yes



n/a Yes
Lucy Wilson Yes Yes



Yes Yes
Chris Clarkson n/a Yes Yes n/a Yes
Samantha Aiken n/a Yes Yes n/a Yes 



Governance Diversity Data:

As a school we recognise that a diversity of thought, voices and perspectives is essential to good governance and the effective running of any organisation. We regularly collect diversity information from our governors and, depending on current data, can use this to:

  • target recruitment to address gaps in experience and diversity
  • develop and adapt board practices to ensure full participation
  • prioritise training and awareness-raising in identified areas
  • address potential ‘blind spots’ through seeking wider advice and perspectives on current and upcoming opportunities, challenges and risks

However, we are unable to publish this information as it would mean that individual members of our governing body are identifiable.

Work of the Governing Body

The work of the Governing Body is in the public domain, subject to confidentiality, and all documents are available via the School Office.

To learn more about the governance of the school or to find out about how to become a governor visit -

Governance is included in the Leadership and Management section of OFSTED's school inspection that was rated 'Good' in January 2023. 

Thorpe Road
South Yorkshire
DN10 5ED

01777 817265